WhatsApp is one of the most used social media applications globally, with nearly two thousand million active users. The platform has many features and functions that can make your usage worthwhile. You can send and receive messages, audio/video call your friends and family, and even run your business online.
However, the platform is used for unfair means by many people. In such cases, you will always have the option to block and report such users. WhatsApp allows you to block people right away if you are no longer interested in speaking to them or want them to contact you further.
Many WhatsApp users globally have received spam messages claiming one could win prizes and money by doing some given actions. In this scenario, you will likely block and report these users. Although, it could be likely that you accidentally blocked and reported someone else rather than the user who sent you spam messages.
So, what happens if you accidentally report and block someone else instead of the actual user? Is there any option to reverse the report and unblock someone? We can understand the panic when you report someone innocently and want to reverse your actions.
In this article, we will be taking a look at all the possible methods to reverse report and block someone without letting the other person know about this embarrassing situation. So, make sure you stick to the end to find out more.
What Happens When I Have Accidentally Reported And Blocked Someone?
One of the widely asked questions is what happens if you report and block someone accidentally? Well, there can be various things that can be affected. Here are a series of factors that would be affected if you have accidentally reported someone:
- Last seen
Your last seen will not be visible to the user who has blocked and reported it. The last seen of your profile will become blank to them. Even if you try, you won’t see their last active status.
As you block someone, any status you upload will not be visible to the user who has been blocked. They can only view it from the other number.
- Calls and messages
You will not receive any calls and messages from the user who has been reported. If the user chooses to call you, they will see the “Ringing” option, but the calls will never be delivered. Messages will only have a single tick if any are sent to you by that user.
The WhatsApp team will closely supervise the user’s account and chats you reported and blocked. The person’s account can be banned or suspended from WhatsApp’s platform if they violate WhatsApp’s terms and conditions.
- Group chats
While other things can be affected, one thing that will remain the same is Group Chats. You will be able to send messages to the group, which will be received by the user you have blocked.
How Can You Reverse Report And Unblock Someone on WhatsApp?
You might have mistakenly reported and blocked someone else on WhatsApp when you wanted to do the latter with annoying users who keep sending unwanted texts. You should know that you can reverse these actions and allow the person accidentally blocked by you to interact with you.
There is no need to panic as a user’s account will not be banned from WhatsApp unless several users have reported them. In a nutshell, your report won’t affect them. You need to follow simple steps in order to reverse the report and unblock someone.
Firstly, you need to open the WhatsApp application on your phone. Once you open the app, you should search for the user you mistakenly blocked. After searching, open their chat, tap on their profile picture, and scroll down to the bottom of the page. You might be able to see an option to unblock them in grey color above the report option.
Simply click on the “Unblock” option, and rest assured. The unblocked user will be able to regain access, send and receive messages to you, watch your status, etc. Although, if you have clicked on the box stating “Delete all chats,” you will not be able to see older chats and conversations with them. There is nothing you can do about it.
To simplify the process, here’s a quick guide:
Step 1: Open WhatsApp on your phone.
Step 2: Open the chatbox of the person you want to unblock.
Step 3: Click on their profile picture at the top.
Step 4: Scroll down through their profile and see the ‘unblock contact’ option. Tap on it.
That’s it! You can now send and receive messages from the other person.
There is also an alternative way to unblock someone. Here’s how you can do it:
Step 1: Open WhatsApp on your phone.
Step 2: Go to the settings option.
Step 3: Next, head to the privacy option, then check for blocked contacts.
Step 4: Search for the number you have blocked and click on it to unblock.
That’s it. You have now unblocked the contact.
Coming to the reverse reporting option, unfortunately, you cannot reverse report someone. Once you report them, you no longer have an option to undo your actions. However, you can still unblock the person with the methods mentioned above.
WhatsApp is one of the social media platforms that we open at least once a day. Whether it is for replying to your friends or communicating with your work colleagues, everyone opens the platform at least once a day. With so many features available, the platform is gaining significance each day.
While using the platform daily, it is common to receive unwanted messages. While reporting and blocking someone is one of the easiest ways to eliminate the communication further, you may end up reporting and blocking someone else in a hurry.
Well, fortunately, you no longer have to panic, and you can easily undo your actions with the methods mentioned above. So, go ahead and unblock them easily.
We hope this article helped you know how you can reverse a report and block someone. Did the method work for you? Let us know in the comment section below.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Will an account get banned if I report it?
No. It will likely not be banned if you report a WhatsApp account. However, if several users report the same account, WhatsApp may take action and ban them under the right conditions.
2. Can I call someone who was reported and blocked by me?
Yes. You will be able to interact with someone who has been reported and blocked by you. Although, they would not be able to communicate with you.